iPad 2 International Launch this Friday, March 25

Apple has confirmed that the iPad 2 will go on sale in 25 additional countries this Friday, March 25. They are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK. Online sales will begin 1 a.m. and Apple Stores (along with authorized resellers) will begin selling units at 5 p.m. local time.

“While competitors are still struggling to catch up with our first iPad, we’ve changed the game again with iPad 2,” said Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO. “We’re experiencing amazing demand for iPad 2 in the US, and customers around the world have told us they can’t wait to get their hands on it. We appreciate everyone’s patience and we are working hard to build enough iPads for everyone.”

Hong Kong, Korea and Singapore will have to wait until April for the iPad 2 to become available, with even more countries to be included in launch in the coming months. Full press release after the gap.

Continue reading…

iPad 2 Release Date: March 11th in the US, March 25th for 26 Other Countries

One of the more surprising things revealed at the iPad 2 event (at least for me anyway) has to be it’s launch date: March 11th at 5pm in the US. That is almost 3 weeks earlier than when the iPad first dropped last year on April 3rd. And this despite the recent rumors that a delay until June was a strong possibility. Alas, we’re only 9 days away from when it first arrives into Apple Stores (sorry, no pre-orders this time). As for those of you outside the US, the good news is that the iPad 2 will release on March 25, just a mere 2 weeks after. Take a look below and see if your country is one of the 26 that will be getting theirs before the month is over.

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Hungary
  • Japan
  • Luxembourg
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • UK