Tiger Woods + Email App = Double the Fun?
There’s no denying that Tiger Woods has inspired a whole new generation of people to watch and play the game of golf. Well, it seems Tiger is continuing to inspire as iPhone developers are gearing up for what will surely be a heated battle between apps that’ll have your mail/text messages vanish without a trace after it’s been read.
As you may already know, Tiger Woods was reportedly busted for his “extra curricular activities” after his wife found incriminating text messages on his cellphone. So if you were a man (or woman) in Tiger’s shoes (and I hope you’re not), what do you do? Wish you had an iPhone and the TigerText app is what! Released last week, TigerText will allow the sender to set the lifespan of a message once it’s been opened. You can set the countdown at 60 seconds or even days if you wish before the text is permanently deleted from their servers (and hence vanishing from your phone). Of course, the downfall to this is that the sender and recipient will both need a copy of the app. And set to be released in less than a week is TigerMail, a similar app aimed at keeping your naughty mail (and you) safe from life altering consequences down the road. And rather than having your messages stored on a server for even the briefest of moments, TigerMail’s website claims that nothing will be stored as your mail will only be forwarded. Regardless, if you have something to hide or you’re simply the paranoid type, these Tiger Woods inspired email apps will indeed be very tempting.
X Sigma Partners LLC, Tiger Text – Free (First 15 days/100 text)
TigerText App Description
SEND TEXTS THAT DON’T LIVE FOREVER. MESSAGES ARE DELETED FROM BOTH USERS’ PHONES. BE IN CONTROL OF THE RECORD YOU LEAVE. TRY TIGERTEXT FOR FREE.
HOW DOES TIGERTEXT WORK?
When you send a regular text message, the message is sent from your phone, routed through a server, and then delivered to the recipient’s phone. The message you send will live on the receiver’s phone until the recipient decides to delete it. The text message will also reside on the cell phone company’s server for an unlimited amount of time. TigerText is different because, even though it looks and feels identical to a normal text message, the content of your message is never sent to the recipient’s phone and you control when the message is deleted from our server so you control the lifespan of the message!
HOW DO I KNOW MY MESSAGES ARE DELETED?
Messages are displayed on both users (sender and receiver) phones until they are deleted from our server. All expired texts are cleared from our servers every minute of the day. Once you see the TigerText paws, you know your tracks have been covered and the message no longer stored anywhere.
HOW DOES THE PRICING WORK?
TigerText is free to try (100 messages sent over 15 days) and it’s always free to read messages. iPhone users who want to send messages pay simply $1.49 per 250 messages sent per month or $2.49 a month for unlimited messages. Blackberry and Droid will be priced in a similar fashion.
IS THERE A CATCH IF I TRY IT FOR FREE?
No catch! Once you install TigerText, you will always be able to read messages sent to you. You can upgrade again at anytime.
WHAT DOES TEXT LIFESPAN MEAN?
“Lifespan” is the length of time a message will live before it is deleted on both devices. For example if you send a message at 2:00 PM and your lifespan is set to 4 hours, at 6:00 PM the message will be deleted from your device, the receiver’s device and our server.
WHAT DOES “DELETE ON READ” IN SETTINGS MEAN?
“Delete on Read” indicates a message will be deleted 1 minute after the receiver opens the message. When a message is sent with “Delete on Read” as soon as the recipient opens the message a countdown clock begins at 59 seconds. When the clock reaches 0 the message is deleted from the server and therefore does not exist on the recipient’s phone anymore. Please note that if a message is sent with “Delete on Read” but is not opened prior to the expiration of the Text Lifespan, the message will no longer exist and therefore not be read.
WHAT DOES “DELETE HISTORY” IN SETTINGS MEAN?
Some TigerText users really want to cover their tracks. Delete History will destroy the record of your conversation on your device once you exit the application. Thus, the next time you login there will no record of your ever having had a conversation on your device.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I SEND A MESSAGE AND IT EXPIRES BEFORE THE RECIPIENT READS IT?
The message is gone forever!
WHY DO YOU NEED MY MOBILE NUMBER?
Although not required for iPod Touch users, the mobile number allows TigerText to verify your device. By verifying your device, recipients of messages can be sure who their message is coming from.
HOW DO I KNOW HOW MANY MESSAGES I HAVE LEFT BEFORE I’VE USED MY ALLOTMENT?
Scroll to the bottom of the settings page and it will show how many text you have left and when your subscription runs out.
WHAT IF I SEND A TIGERTEXT TO SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE TIGERTEXT INSTALLED?
The user will receive a message from TigerText that encourages them to install the free reader. Once the free reader is installed, the user can read any message you send. Both users must have TigerText in order to communicate through the platform.
CAN I USE TIGERTEXT IF I HAVE AN IPOD ITOUCH?
Yes! This is a great option for non-smart phone users as well.